Directors and Board Members

Rusruss and mistys & Misty Blackwell – Ministry Directors

Russ is the Executive Director of First Step and he owns his own construction business and is the Pastor of New Generations Community Church in Summerville. Misty worked for the Chattooga County Board of Education as Director of Finance, and left her job in 2016 to devote full-time to the ministry.  Misty is the Director of Women’s Ministry . They have 3 children and 2 grandchildren and have lived in Chattooga County all their lives.  Misty has a heart for people with addictions.  Her own mother was addicted to drugs most of her life.  Her mother was saved by the grace of Jesus Christ and delivered from drugs including meth.  She has been drug free for 14 years.  Her mother is also involved in the ministry.  Misty is also a well known speaker at Ladies Events in NW Georgia.

Philip and BeckyPhilip & Becky Lawrence

Philip and Becky are our Life Skills and Facilities Director.  Philip is employed by Perdue, Trion, GA as a maintenance technician, and   Becky retired from a Kansas based company, Huhtamaki as Director of Customer Service after 30 years.  They moved to Georgia in 2013, from Kansas, after a call on their lives to work with at risk youth.  They were foster parents in Kansas and had the privilege of working with the entire family to bring about restoration.  Becky served as President of the Foster Parent Advisory Board in Kansas and they became  a SAFE Family in 2015. Becky also supports CarePortal through Promise 686 which engages local churches and community to meet the tangible needs of families in NW Georgia.  They have 4 children, and 7 grandchildren.  Although they moved here from Kansas their roots are southern and lived most of the lives in neighboring DeKalb County Alabama.  They are members of Subligna Baptist Church,  where they serve on the Discipleship Leadership Team and SS Teachers to the Young Couples Class.

Board Members

Jim Dixon – Chairman of the Board

Jim Brooks – Vice Chairman of the Board

Lisa Norton – Treasurer/Secretary

Dr. Charles Bishop – Advisory Board Member

Chuck Moore – Advisory Board Member

Amanda Brooks – Advisory Board Member

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s